Indiana State Climate Office Timeline


In 1954 Dr. Helmut Landsberg of the Weather Bureau Climatological Division announced in Climatological Services Memorandum No. 45 that the Section Centers of the Bureau would be discontinued. In its place would be the State Climatologist and the Area Climatologist program.


During 1955-1956, the era of federally run state climatology programs across the country began. The Indiana State Climate Office was established in 1956 with the mandate to document and study the climate of Indiana . This mission includes responding to the requests of many individuals and user groups in businesses and government. Requests for assistance originate primarily from the agriculture, legal, construction, environmental monitoring, forensics, government, insurance, news media, research and eduction, and utility sectors.


As a federally funded program, the State Climatology program was terminated effective April 16, 1973. However, the individual states were given the opportunity to take over these programs and support them with their own state funds. At this juncture, Purdue University accepted and funded the Indiana State Climate Office as an extension function. Since 1956 to present, the department of Agronomy at Purdue University, West Lafayette, has housed the Indiana State Climate Office.


Over the years the Indiana State Climate Office has served the needs of Indiana with a very small staff. Today, the office is growing significantly, evolving into an active office that continues to serve as a vital resource of climate information to various sectors and industry throughout the state of Indiana .

Indiana state climatologists from inception to present:

1956 1982 Lawrence Schaal
1982 1987  James Newman
1988 2005 Kenneth Scheeringa
2005 Present  Dr. Dev Niyogi (State Climatologist)
  Ken Scheeringa (Associate State Climatologist)
NCDC-Iclimate MoA
Click for West Lafayette, Indiana Forecast